Book – Thrive

ThriveLast summer, I listened to Arianna Huffington (co-founder and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post) speak at Hay Festival, and she was just as inspiring, strong and wise as I hoped she would be.

Following the talk, I purchased a copy of her book, Thrive and started reading straight away. However, I was just a couple of pages in when – despite being hooked – I decided to lend it to a friend.

I have now been reacquainted with Thrive, and am already struggling to fathom how I managed to give it up so easily the first time around. The way in which Arianna calmly and concisely re-evaluates what success and happiness means today is nothing short of gripping.

Within the book, Arianna uses almost everything – from her own personal experiences, to  ancient and modern philosophy to scientific research – to figure out the key ingredients needed to live a healthy and fulfilling life. She is a strong advocate of meditation and mindfulness – concepts that I have flirted with for years but am yet to embark on a serious, committed relationship with.

I am now a quarter of the way through Thrive and can already sense a positive change in the way I think about my career, relationships and everyday life. This book is a must for those who want to thrive, but have no idea where to start.

Leave a Reply

